Internet Fraud: Court Sends Siblings, 14 Others to Prison in Benin City

Two brothers, Clement Osariemen and Vincent Osariemen, were among sixteen internet fraudsters convicted and sentenced to prison by Justices Efe Ikponmwonba and M. Itsueli of Edo State High Court sitting in Benin City.

The other convicts are Clinton Oyaden, Davidson Aghatise Enabulele,  Adeniyi Temitope, Oshiobugie Pascal Enakhena, Akparoboke Oghenero, Sunday Christian, Godstime Okolie, Osagie Clinton,  Adelike Precious , Nwankwo Ebere, Olawale David Oluwagbemiga, Fajemilusi Tosin, Godspower Uwaifo Osamudiamen and Uvbierimi Raphael.

They were arraigned by the Benin Zonal Command of the Commission on separate one count charges bordering on possession of fraudulent documents and intent to defraud.

The charge against Osariemen Vincent reads: “that you, Osariemen Vincent on or about 4th day of April, 2023 in Benin City, Edo State within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court did have in your possession documents which you knew or ought to have known contain a false pretence and thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 6 and Section 8(b) of the Advance Fee Fraud and Other Fraud Related Offences Act, 2006 and punishable under section 1(3) of same Act.”

Upon arraignment, the defendants pleaded guilty to their respective counts prompting prosecution counsel, F.A. Jirbo, Al-Amun Ibrahim Abdul and Saliu Ahmed to pray the court to convict and sentence the defendants accordingly.  However, counsel to the defendants pleaded with the court to temper justice with mercy as the defendants were first time offenders who have become remorseful for their actions.

Justice Ikponmwonba thereafter convicted and sentenced  Clement and Vincent to three years imprisonment with an option of Five Hundred Thousand Naira fine while Ebere bagged three years imprisonment or a fine of Four Hundred Thousand Naira.

 Osamudiamen, Enabulele, Enekhena, Okolie, Clinton and Oyadan Clinton bagged three years imprisonment or a fine of Two Hundred Thousand Naira each.

The trio of Temitope, Enekhena, Raphael got two years imprisonment or a fine of Two Hundred Thousand Naira, while the duo of Oghenero and Precious, were  jailed three years with the option of a fine of One Hundred Thousand Naira each.

Justice Itsueli convicted and sentenced Godtime and Sunday to three years imprisonment or a fine of Two Hundred Thousand Naira and One Hundred Thousand Naira, respectively.

Justice Ikponmwonba ordered that two Lexus ES 330,  phones and balance of money found in the convicts’ accounts, being proceeds of crime, be forfeited to the Federal Government of Nigeria and the bank accounts closed

You may have missed

Leave a Comment