2023: Jubilation As Ugochukwu Ezeocha Emerges PDP Candidate For Umuahia North (Ohuhu) Constituency

By NewsCritic Reporters

There is wild jubilation in Isingwu and Ohuhu the birth place of the legendary Dr M.I Okpara following the emergence of Hon Ugochukwu Ezeocha, as the consensus candidate of the Peoples’ Democratic Party, PDP, for Umuahia North (Ohuhu) State Constituency race in the forthcoming 2023 General Election.

Hon Ugochukwu Ezeocha who hails from Amafor Isingwu Ohuhu in Umuahia North LGA of Abia State was announced the candidate of the PDP by the leadership of the party ahead of the issuance of certificate of return to the party’s candidates, which will take place tomorrow, 8TH June, 2022 at the party secretariat Umuahia.

The widespread celebration in Ohuhu came after long suspense over who will fly the PDP flag in Ohuhu constituency following the non-conduct of the primaries to pick the party’s candidate for the Umuahia North constituency.

However, the PDP in Ohuhu constituency had an unwritten agreement that the seat rotates between Umuhu and Okaiuga blocs, the two clans that make up Ohuhu.

Now it’s the turn of Umuhu and Isingwu was favoured to produce the lawmaker being the only ward yet to occupy the seat since the advent of the fourth republic.

Analysts opined that anything to the contrary would have spelled doom for the party in Ohuhu.

Ezeocha, a businessman cum politician who is one of the foundation members of PDP in Abia state, strongly believes that politics should be an avenue through which to render selfless service and touch human lives through quality legislation and representation.

Here is the full list of all the PDP candidates in Abia.



We are happy to announce to our members in Abia State that the National Working Committee, NWC of our great Party, the PDP has released the names and Certificates of Return of the following successful candidates in the just-concluded Abia PDP primary elections. 

They are requested to appear for the collection of their Certificates as follows:

Date: Wednesday June 8, 2022 (Tomorrow)

Time: 2:00 pm

Venue: State Party Secretariat, Finbars Road, Umuahia 

We use this opportunity to once more, congratulate our flag bearers in the 2023 general elections and charge them to be worthy ambassadors of our great Party.  


1. Aba North – Aron Uzodike

2. Aba Central – Oba Abraham Ukefi

3. Obingwa East – Akpolonu Chijioke

4. Ikwuano- Nwabuisi Stanley

5. Arochukwu – Bonny Emeka Austine

6. Ohafia North – Egwuonu Obasi

7. Osisioma South – Nnamdi Nwachukwu

8. Ugwunagbo – Chief Chijioke Uruakpa

9. Umuahia East – Nwakodo Kelechi

10. Ohafia South – Ekea Udensi

11. Umuahia North – Ugochukwu Ezeocha

12. Isiala Ngwa North – Iheonunekwu Collins

13. Isiala Ngwa South – Dennis Rowland

14. Obingwa West – Erondu Uchenna Erondu

15. Osisioma Ngwa North – John Kennedy Njoku  

16. Bende South – Ndubuisi Emmanuel

17. Umunneochi – Fabian Nwankwo

18. Umuahia South – Uzosike Jeremiah

19. Ukwa East – Lewis Obianyi

20. Ukwa West – Hon. Godwin Adiele

21. Bende North – Nnamdi Ibekwe

22. Isuikwuato – Lucky Johnson

23. Umuahia Central – Pastor Ugochukwu Uche

24. Aba South – Prince Nwaigwe


1. Bende – Elendu Ukeje Nnenna

2. Ebisike Chimaobi – Aba North/South

3. Chief Chris Nkwonta – Ukwa East/West

4. Mrs. Loveth Ofoegbu – Isuikwuato/Umunneochi

5. Umuahia North/South/Ikwuano – Rt. Hon. Orji Chinedum Enyinnaya

6. Obingwa/Osisioma/Ugwunagbo – Nwagaga Chinwendu

7. Isiala Ngwa North/South – Prof. Agbazuare ACB

8. Arochukwu/Ohafia – Rt. Hon. Uchendu Ifeanyi


1. Abia South – Dr. Okezie Victor Ikpeazu

2. Abia North – Senator Mao Ohuabunwa

3. Abia Central – Dr. Austine Akobundu



Hon. Elder Amah Abraham

State Vice Chairman (Acting State Publicity Secretary)

You may have missed

Leave a Comment