Drama As Thugs Disrupt Umuahia North PDP Caucus Meeting Ahead Of Congress

By NewsCritic Reporters

Hired thugs today disrupted the Umuahia North Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Caucus meeting ahead of the Local Government and State congresses. The thugs were sent by Hon Chukwudi Apugo to stop the meeting because he was excluded from the list of those to attend the meeting, in spite of his position as a leader of the party in Ibeku and Umuahia North.

Eye witness account told the NewsCritic that the leaders of the PDP in Umuahia North had gathered at the LGA Secretariat to harmonise the list of candidates for the various party positions before hoodlums suddenly stormed the venue and disrupted the meeting and forced the PDP leaders to plan for their escape.

Sources said the thugs who came in their numbers entered the venue of the meeting and started breaking chairs and scattering the tables to disperse the meeting.

The caucus meeting had in attendance leaders of the party both from Ohuhu and Ibeku clans, the two groups that make up Umuahia North LGA.

NewsCritic gathered that the thugs were there on the orders of Hon Chukwudi Apugo, the member representing Umuahia East constituency at the Abia State House of Assembly. It was further gathered that the reason for the deployment of hoodlums to the venue of the meeting was because he was excluded from the caucus meeting, despite being a party leader in Ibeku by virtue of his position as a lawmaker.

Close sources said he saw his exclusion from the meeting as an affront and pointed accusing finger at Chief Charles Ogbonnaya as the brain behind the deliberate exclusion of his name from the list of invitees.

Though there were conflicting reports concerning the commotion that ensued at the venue of the meeting when the thugs invaded it, however, it was confirmed that nobody was injured in the process. The party leaders were said to have left the venue immediately in order not to attract the wrath of the thugs.

Some of the party leaders in attendance include the TC Chairman, Chief Lucky Akabuike, Hon. Kelechi Onuzuruike, Hon. Chidiebere Nwachukwu, Chief Charles Ogbonnaya among others.

You may have missed

Leave a Comment