Ikpeazu Swears In LGA TC Chairmen, Tasks Them On Rural Development

The newly appointed Transition Committee Chairmen and their Deputies in the 17 Local Government Areas of Abia State have been sworn-in by the Governor, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu.

Performing the swearing-in ceremony at Government House Umuahia, the Governor charged them to align themselves with the developmental policies of his administration. He stressed the need for them to leverage on the agriculture, trade & commerce, education, health and other programs of his administration to better the lots of the people in their various LGAs.

Governor Ikpeazu used the opportunity to disclose the decision of his administration to establish Homeland Security Outfits in all the LGAs and challenged the Chairmen to see to it that it is a success. According to him, the security outfits would assist government get tip off on the happenings in the rural communities and manage her security more effectively. He told the Chairmen that as chief security officers of their LGAs, they are expected to ensure peaceful cohesion and manage issues among various interest groups in their Councils. He equally told the T. C bosses to ensure their LGAs are crime – free these Yuletide and beyond.

The Governor, who told them to look inwards and carry out impactful realisable projects in their areas, urged them to ensure that communities without amenities such as pipe bore water and light are provided with the amenities.

Earlier, the Solicitor General of the State and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Lady Uzoamaka Uche Ikonne administered oaths of allegiance and office to the Chairmen and Deputies.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the Transition Committee Chairman, Aba North Local Government Area, Chief Victor Ubani assured that they would work very hard to make the Governor and the State very proud.

He thanked the Governor for his confidence in them which made him to appoint them to the office.

The Transition Committee Chairmen and their Deputies are;


Chief Victor Ubani and Mrs. Joy Iwuchukwu

2. ABA SOUTH LGA, Cherechi Wogu

and Nochin Kanu

3. AROCHUKWU LGA, Maurice Onyekachi Okoro and Daniel Onyema Ogbuagu

4. BENDE LGA, Dr. Hagler Okorie

and John Mark


Udo Nwogwugwu and Chukwuemeka Wachuku

6. ISIALA NGWA SOUTH LGA, Chief Nkem Onwubiko and Barrister Prince Enyioma Okpanku

7. IKWUANO LGA, Barrister Stanley Ojigbo and Chima Ikije

8. ISUIKWUATO LGA, Dr. Osita Igbe and Charles Chinedu Uguru

9. OBINGWA LGA, Kingsley Nnaji and Mrs. Ezinwanyi Jonah

10. OHAFIA LGA , Fred Idika and Ezeikpe Kelvin Agbara

11. OSISIOMA NGWA LG, Dr. Ikechukwu Nwabeke and Fyne Ahuama

12. UMUAHIA NORTH LGA, Chief Lucky Akabuike and Ugochukwu Ibe

13. UMUAHIA SOUTH LGA, Dr. Ndukwe Adindu and Chibuzo Ejim

14. UMUNNEOCHI LGA, Engr. Matthew Ibe and Chigozie Igbo

15. UKWA EAST LGA, Mrs Stella Igbokwe and Chief Rowland Omoni

16. UKWA WEST LGA, Chief Sylvanus Nwaji and Mrs Ifeyinwa Adiele

17. UGWUNAGBO LGA, Chief Peter Aguomba and Mrs Appolonia Emeh

You may have missed

Leave a Comment