Lagos Gov, Sanwo-Olu Fails To Nominate Any Igbo Candidate In His Cabinet

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Sunday nominated 25 persons to serve as commissioners and special advisers pending approval by the State Assembly. Curiously no Igbo person is nominated this time despite been part of the EXCO since 2003.

Prominent among the nominees are Editor, The Nation Newspaper Mr. Gbenga Omotoso and immediate past Secretary to the State Government, Tunji Bello.

A statement by his Deputy Chief Press Secretary, Gboyega Akosile, said the governor carefully picked the nominees based on their cognate experience in their respective professions.

The list, Akosile said, comprised names of technocrats and politicians, who understand the challenges of the state, noting the painstaking and laborious selection process was aimed at constituting the best team that will serve Lagos in line with the agenda of his administration vision of delivering a city-state that will rank among the top most liveable cities in the world.

“We took our time to pick the best hands for the tough job Lagosians have elected us to do.

The nominees for the twenty five Commissioner and Special Adviser positions include women and men who have made their mark and at the zenith of their professional callings,’’ Akosile added.

The list, according to him, include ” a blend of youth who are under 40 among nominees for Commissioners and Special Advisers.

“Women too are well represented in the list. We believe Lagos deserves the best and we cannot give the people anything less than that.”

Other nominees are:

Mr. Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo

Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo

Prof. Akin Abayomi

Dr. Idris Salako

Mr. Tunji Bello

Mr. Gbenga Omotoso

Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka

Mrs. Bolaji Dada

Mr. Lere Odusote

Dr. Frederic Oladeinde

Mr. Gbolahan Lawal

Ms. Adekemi Ajayi

Mr. Femi George

Dr. Wale Ahmed

Mr. Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN)

Mr. Hakeem Fahm

Mrs. Ajibola Ponnle

Engr. Aramide Adeyoye

Mr. Segun Dawodu

Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf

 Mr. Sam Egube

 Ms Ruth Bisola Olusanya

 Princess Aderemi Adebowale

 Mr. Tunbosun Alake

 Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo

Their names have been forwarded to the Assembly for screening and confirmation.

You may have missed

Leave a Comment