Ikpeazu Receives, Thanks Abia NYSC Presidential Award Winners For Making State Proud

Abia State Governor Dr Okezie Ikpeazu has commended the batch 2015/2016 National Youth Service Corps, NYSC, Presidential Award Winners from Abia State for making the State proud by winning the highly prized awards.

The Governor said this on Sunday while formally receiving five out of the six Abians who won the 2015/2016 NYSC Presidential Award Winners. These six Abians were personally honored by President Muhammadu Buhari for their exemplary conduct during their service year and for making exceptional contributions to their areas of primary assignment.

In the words of the Governor, “Six of you have made us proud. You have put Abia on the national limelight yet again by your activities during your service year. I keep saying it that the quest for excellence is driven by a personal choice to stand out from the crowd. As Youth Corpers, you had an option to just serve and walk away but you went the extra mile by making solid contributions to your areas of primary assignment and leaving indelible marks. Smart people create opportunities while lazy people keep complaining”.

The Governor was particularly pleased that Abia State University and Abia State Polytechnic collectively produced three out of the five awardees.

Introducing the Presidential Awardees, Mr. Chinenye Nwaogu told the Governor that this is the first time that six persons from one state will win the NYSC Presidential Award in one year. He said that the award came with automatic employment for each of them into the federal civil service and a post graduate scholarship. He explained the five out of six of them were available today because one of them had travelled abroad for further studies.

Responding on behalf of the awardees, Miss Eberechi Uduma thanked the Governor for the reception and assured him that they will continue to fly high the flag of excellence and diligence which the State has been known for over the years.

She highlighted the projects they did in their various states and areas of primary assignment.

The five awardees are –

1. Miss Eberechi Uduma from Ohafia LGA. She served in Kogi State.

2. Okehi Ubachi from Ikwuano LGA. He served in Sokoto State.

3. Kingsley Kalu Njoku from Ohafia LGA. He served in Kogi State.

4. Monday Raphael Johnson from Ukwa East LGA. He served in Enugu State.

5. Ogbonna Chidiebere Udenta from Isuikwuato LGA. He served in Edo State.

6. Okeoma Emmanuel from Obingwa LGA. He served in Kwara State.

The Deputy Governor, Sir Ude Oko Chukwu and the Honorable Commissioner for Information, Chief John Okiyi Kalu were present at the short but very impressive event which took place at the Governor’s Lodge, Government House Umuahia, according to the chief press secretary to the governor, Onyebuchi Ememanka, Esq.

You may have missed

Leave a Comment