Breaking: Obasanjo, Jonathan, Gowon absent at Democracy Day Celebration

Former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo, Goodluck Jonathan and Gen. Yakubu Gowon were conspicuously absent at the Eagles Square venue of the 2019 Democracy Day celebration when the event started.

Former presidents and Heads of state were scheduled to arrive the venue by 9.35am

Obasanjo apart from criticising President Muhammadu Buhari’s first term administration had advised Buhari not to run for the 2019 Presidential election.

The former President Goodluck Jonathan was also not at the Eagles Square when the events started.

Also absent at 10.15am when President Muhammadu Buhari arrived the venue was the former Head of State, Yakubu Gowon.

However, President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday arrived the Eagles Square venue of the Democracy Day celebration at 10.15a.m.

The President took salute on the Saluting Dais during the rendition of the National anthem.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo had arrived the venue about fifteen minutes before the President. Osinbajo led other top government officials to receive other world leaders at the venue.

The new Senate President, Ahmed Lawan and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila have also arrived at the Eagles Square.

Members of the late MKO Abiola’s family, including Kola were also at the Eagles Square.

Buhari is to ride in a special inspection vehicle to inspect guards on parade and acknowledged cheers from the invited guests.

All the troops are also to carry out parade march in slow and quick time.

While military musical display, silent drill and cultural troupe performance are planned for the celebration, all troops will also take part in advance in review order.

The President is expected to deliver the Democracy Day Address before the celebration comes to an end.

Also the national Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu was among Nigerian leaders that have arrived at the Eagles Square venue of the 2019 National Democracy Day celebration.

He arrived at the venue around 9.22a.m.

President Muhammadu Buhari had shifted annual celebration of Democracy Day from May 29th to June 12th in honour of the self-acclaimed President, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola (GCFR).

Abiola had run for the presidency in 1993, but the election results were annulled by former military President, Ibrahim Babangida.

Buhari, on the 6th of June 2018 had also awarded Abiola posthumously with Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), meant only for Presidents.

Those already at the Eagles Square venue are the Ooni of Ife, Enitan Ogunwosi II, former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, Aliko Dangote and Femi Otedola, Jim Ovia.

state governors at the event included those of Osun, Kogi, Kano, Yobe, Kwara, Ekiti, Lagos, Oyo, Anambra.

Former ministers including Lai Mohammed, Solomon Dalung, Mansur Dan-Ali, Head of Service, Winifred Oyo-Ita, members of the diplomatic corps, and service chiefs were also at the venue.

Other world leaders have also arrived Abuja for the democracy day celebration and expected to be received at the Eagles Square venue by President Muhammadu Buhari by 9.57 a.m

Security was beefed up round the Eagles Square to ensure protection of invited guests and all those attending the event.

There is thorough screening at all entry points while seats have been well labelled and reserved for guests.

You may have missed

Leave a Comment